Connect The Dots

Param vir Chakra awardees – Gallantry

4.76K 0

Param vir Chakra awardees – Gallantry Award

Param Vir Chakra is India’s highest wartime gallantry award. It was introduced on 26 January, 1950. It has mostly been awarded posthumously.

PVC is the highest wartime gallantry medal for officers and other enlisted personnel of all military branches of India for the highest degree of valour in the presence of the enemy, on land, at sea or in the air.

The medal was introduced in January 1950 and with effect from 15 August 1947. It is made of bronze. It can be awarded posthumously. Param Vir Chakra is the equivalent award of Victoria Cross in the United Kingdom and the Medal of Honour in the United States.


Medal:  Circular in shape, made of bronze, one and three eighth inches in diameter and shall have embossed on the obverse four replicas of “Indra’s Vajra” with the State Emblem embossed in the centre. On its reverse, it shall have embossed “PARAM VIR CHAKRA” both in Hindi and in English with two lotus flowers between the Hindi and the English inscriptions.

Ribbon: Plain purple coloured ribbon.
Bar: If any recipient of the Chakra shall again perform such an act of bravery as would have made him or her eligible to receive the Chakra, such further act of bravery shall be recorded by a Bar to be attached to the riband by which the Chakra is suspended, and for every such additional act of bravery, an additional Bar shall be added, and any such Bar or Bars may also be awarded posthumously.

For every Bar awarded a replica of the “Indra’s Vajra” in miniature shall be added to the riband when worn alone.

List of Param Vir Chakra awardees

S.No Name Regiment Date
1 Major Somnath Sharma 4th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment 3 Nov, 1947, Posthumous
2 Second Lieutenant Rama Raghoba Rane Bombay Engineers 08-Apr-48
3 Naik Jadu Nath Singh 1st Battalion, Rajput Regiment 6 February, 1948, Posthumous
4 Company Havildar Major Piru Singh Shekhawat 6th Battalion, Rajputana Rifles 18 July, 1948, Posthumous
5 Lance Naik Karam Singh Sikh Regiment 13-Oct-48
6 Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria 3/1 Gorkha Rifles 05-Dec-61
7 Major Dhan Singh Thapa 1st Battalion, 8th Gorkha Rifles 21-Oct-62
8 Subedar Joginder Singh 1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment 23 October, 1962, Posthumous
9 Major Shaitan Singh 13th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment 18 November, 1962,Posthumous
10 Company Quarter Master Havildar Abdul Hamid 4th Battalion, The Grenadiers 10 September, 1965, Posthumous
11 Lieutenant-Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore 17th Poona Horse 11 September, 1965, Posthumous
12 Lance Naik Albert Ekka 14th Battalion, Brigade of the Guards 4 December, 1971, Posthumous
13 Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon No.18 Squadron, Indian Air Force 14 December, 1971, Posthumous
14 2/Lieutenant Arun Khetarpal 17 Poona Horse 16 December, 1971, Posthumous
15 Major Hoshiar Singh 3rd Battalion, The Grenadiers Regiment 17-Dec-71
16 Naib Subedar Bana Singh Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry 23-May-87
17 Major Ramaswamy Parameshwaran 8th Battalion, Mahar Regiment 25 November, 1987, Posthumous
18 Captain Manoj Kumar Pandey 1st Battalion, 11th Gorkha Rifles 3 July, 1999, Posthumous
19 Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav 18th Battalion, The Grenadiers 04-Jul-99
20 Rifleman Sanjay Kumar 13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles 04-Jul-99
21 Captain Vikram Batra 13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles 7 July, 1999, Posthumous


Hence, we can say that 21 soldiers have been awarded Param Vir Chakra the highest Gallantry award in India and none of them are form Navy. Out of which 20 were from the Indian Army and one from the Air force.

Gallantry awards along with some other Defence Distinguished Service awards are conferred to the awardees/Next-of-Kins (NoKs) by the President at the Defence Investiture Ceremony held every year at the Rashtrapati Bhawan. However, the PVC and the Ashoka Chakra are conferred by the President to the awardees/NoKs on the occasion of the Republic Day Parade at the Rajpath.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap